Dr. Pitcher Tells You How to Vote

This time it’s personal.

That’s right, the upcoming election features more stuff that affects me personally than any previous election.  So I am going to tell you how I’m voting (and how I’d like you to vote) on these issues.  I could try to convince you with logical arguments, with appeals to compassion for others, even with numbers and charts and graphs.  I’m not going to do that.  Chances are, if you’re reading this blog, you know me, and maybe you’re even my friend.  So I’m going to tell you how these issues affect me, and maybe that will convince you.

 

President: Barak Obama

Mitt Romney is an ass.  Let me say that again: MITT ROMNEY IS AN ASS.  Why?  Because he vetoed my COLA, that’s why!  When I was a professor at the University of Massachusetts Boston and Romney was governor of Massachusetts, the state legislature approved a COLA (Cost Of Living Adjustment) salary increase of a few percent for University of Massachusetts faculty.  Romney vetoed it.  I will never forget how he tried to deal with a bad budget situation by screwing over underpaid and overworked college faculty.  If he tried that in Massachusetts, what’s to stop him trying something similar as president?  I will never forget the Mitt Romney vetoed my COLA.  Neither should you.  Vote for Barak Obama.

 

California Proposition 30: Yes

This is simple: help keep California’s community colleges open.  Help keep higher education available for everyone.  Help me keep my job.  I know Prop. 30 raises taxes a bit, particularly on the wealthy, but public education in California needs your help.  Why yes on Prop. 30 and not on Prop. 38?  Simply because community colleges will not see any of the additional revenue raised by Prop. 38!  Again, help me keep my job.  Vote yes on Prop. 30.

 

California Proposition 32: No

I agree with the principle of campaign finance reform, but Prop. 32 unequally affects union members.  Prohibiting campaign contributions for both corporations and unions seems equal enough, but it’s the prohibition on using payroll deductions that’s the problem.  Prohibiting payroll deductions (used for political purposes—nice and vague, isn’t it?) unequally affects unions and their members.  Corporations aren’t going to use payroll deductions from employees to make campaign contributions—they’ll just use other funds (profits, etc.)!  And the language of the proposition is a riot too: it’s not payroll deduction, it’s “the inherently coercive means of payroll deduction.”  WTF?!  Payroll deduction is a convenience, not coercion.  Prop. 32 is another case of trying to trick California voters into voting for inherently biased legislation.  Let me keep paying my union dues via payroll deduction.  Vote no on Prop. 32.

 

California Proposition 38: No

Only one of either Prop. 30 or Prop. 38 can pass.  Prop. 30 helps community colleges, Prop. 38 doesn’t.  Prop. 38 also levies a more severe tax than Prop. 30.  Don’t raise taxes too much, but help me keep my job.  Vote no on Prop. 38 (and yes on Prop. 30).

 

Other California Propositions

Here’s how I’m voting on some of the other California propositions, even though they don’t have as immediate an effect on me.

Prop. 31: No.  Too confusing, with unknown potential effects.

Prop. 33: No.  More false claims about potentially lower insurance.

Prop. 34: Yes.  Abolish the death penalty in California, if only to save the state money.

Prop. 35: Yes.

Prop. 36: Yes.

Prop. 37: No.  Too many exemptions.  Reading the text of the proposition I discovered that foods for sale to restaurants would be exempt from the labeling requirements!

Prop.  39: I actually haven’t decided yet.  Probably no.

Prop. 40: Yes.  The presence of this proposition on the ballot was merely to delay implementation of the state senate districts approved by the Citizens Redistricting Commission.

6 Comments

Filed under Politics, Wayne

6 responses to “Dr. Pitcher Tells You How to Vote

  1. Chem12A

    Hi Professor Pitcher,

    This is a fun read. 🙂 I didn’t know you are so passionate about politics.

    I’m not politically savvy at all; I’m more of a follower than a analyst/researcher. I voted for Barack Obama back in 2008 because, well, living in the predominately liberal Bay Area, Obama was the super celebrity among other things, so… I voted for him *LOL*. But, I’m undecided now.

    Is it safe to assume that anyone who works for a community college is automatically politically left-wing?

    Is the COLA veto the only objection you have against the governor?

    I’m taking a Nutrition course and my instructor is in favor of Prop 37 and all things healthy. I’m going to ask her about the exemption thing. That’s interesting.

    Anyway, I admire your passion!

    Rock the vote!

    P.S.: Don’t make the second test too hard, PLEASE. *praying*

  2. Thanks for the thoughtful advice- especially re the community colleges and union payroll deductions. Doesn’t hurt that you used to live in Massachusetts either. We don’t watch “tv” except via Netflix and the Internet. There’s something creepy, cold and calculating about Romney. Most Mormons that I’ve known have been extremely warm and loving people- on the surface as well as deeper. I know thats an overgeneralization but there’s something off in his demeanor.

  3. Wayne Pitcher

    The COLA veto is symptomatic of a larger problem: Romney doesn’t seem to get it. Many of his proposed cuts to balance the federal budget are of the same nature as his veto of my COLA at UMass. They don’t really help the budget situation much, but they hurt others a lot. His stated desire to stop federal funding for PBS, for example, is misguided. One of my colleagues in Math said it best: trying to balance the budget by cutting funding fro PBS is like trying to study for a Calculus final by reviewing fractions.

  4. There’s a lot of reasons not to vote for Mitt Romney–shaky economic footing is, for me, pretty for down on the list. Total disconnect with common values and pandering to an extremist base (I can’t even say ‘conservative’ without understandably insulting decent, economically-concerned conservatives) ranks rather higher. I may even throw hot-button words like race, homophobia and class warfare into the mix.

    But that’s not what I came for! Check this out! (I hope comment formatting doesn’t mess this up too bad)
    \o/ o
    H3C-CH2-CH2-O- I – /I\
    /\ /\
    A propyl-people-ether!

  5. Aw, I think it did. Well here:
    Fe-Fe-Fe
    / \
    Fe Fe
    \ /
    Fe-Fe-Fe

    Have a ferrous wheel instead.

  6. Wayne Pitcher

    Brad, thanks for the chemistry humor! Also, I’m working on an upcoming post with more about Romney/homophobia. I haven’t been able to post as frequently as I’d like–grading, you know. 😉
    Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

