Wood and How We Use It

I’ve updated my blog site with some pages about my woodworking projects.  I’ve been interested in woodworking for a long time—my dad had a workshop in one corner of the basement in our house in Big Flats (western-ish New York state, where I lived before moving to the idyllic hamlet of San Mateo, California).  I’ve always enjoyed watching shows like This Old House, New Yankee Workshop, and the Woodwright’s Shop.  I demonstrated myself to be handy carpentry-wise in the fraternity house.  And I finally got a sort-of shop of my own when we bought our house in North Andover, Massachusetts.

It was in North Andover that I built (along with a bunch of help from my wife and my dad) a set of built-in bookshelves for our living/family room.  It was the first time I used my router, and I really didn’t have much of an idea of what I was doing.  My plans were fine, I was just inexperienced in the use of the router.

That changed in March 2007 when I took a router basics class at Woodcraft in Dublin, CA (Santina got me the class as a birthday present).  In that class I saw the power and potential of the router unleashed.  My workshop sprang into existence in one half of our garage (in our current house in Castro Valley, CA).  I added a workbench, a stand for my router table, a plunge router with a 1/2″ collet (vs. the 1/4″ one in my old router), and a table saw.  And I began to do some woodworking.

I’ve only built a few pieces so far.  Obviously, I have a day job, a family, and a few other hobbies that keep me busy.  But I do enjoy woodworking.  I enjoy the act of creating something new from raw materials.  I enjoy the feel of the wood.  Power tools are cool too.

Probably the aspect of woodworking I enjoy most is seeing a project come togather.  I enjoy drawing up plans, but there is something special about seeing the plans turn into a real object.  Of course I make changes as I go along, but that is part of the fun.  And after all the work, being able to look at a well-made piece of woodwork is just plain satisfying.

Leave a comment

Filed under Wayne, Woodworking

Leave a Reply

